skip navigation

Shakopee wrestling headed back to state

By Todd Abeln, 02/16/19, 5:15PM CST


Shakopee qualified for its second straight Class 3A state wrestling tournament on Friday night when they defeated Apple Valley 40-24 in the Section 2AAA championship at Burnsville High School.

The Sabers won the matches they were supposed to win and won three tight matches to earn the victory.

Shakopee jumped out to a 19-0 lead after Pierson Manville, Paxton Creese, Ben Lunn and Tyler Jones all earned wins.

Manville and Lunn by technical fall while Creese won by pin fall.

Jones defeated Martin Stewart 5-4 when he earned a takedown with less then 20 seconds left in the match.

Valley's Adam Mickelson and Sebus Swiggum earned a technical fall and major decision to cut the lead to 19-9.

Valley then sent No. 1 ranked Brady Gross to the mat against the Sabers Brandon Kidd.

In their regular season match, Gross won by major decision.

This time Kidd wasn't having any of it as he earned won in overtime 6-4 to put the score at 22-9.

Dylan Anderson won by fall at 152 pounds to cut the lead to 22-15.

Connor Raines flipped his match with Devin Roberts from earlier in the season and won 7-5.

Shakopee welcomed the return of Carson Manville in this mat as the No. 1 ranked wrestler earned a pin at 170 pounds in his first match since December.

Jack Casey followed with a 5-2 decision and Joey Johnson clinched the match with a pin at 195 pounds.

Valley finished the match off with a pin at 220 and overtime win at 285 to put the final score at 40-24.

To get to the finals, Shakopee defeated Burnsville 74-3 in the quarterfinals and Lakeville South 45-18 in the semifinals.

Shakopee 40, Apple Valley 24

106 Pierson Manville (Shakopee) over Austin Laudenbach (Apple Valley) TF 19-4  SHS 5 AVHS 0

113 Paxton Creese (Shakopee) over Marcell Booth (Apple Valley) Fall 3:41 SHS 11 AVHS 0

120 Ben Lunn (Shakopee) over Regan Schrempp (Apple Valley) TF 21-6 SHS 16 AVHS 0

126 Tyler Jones (Shakopee) over Martin Stewart (Apple Valley) Dec 5-4 SHS 19 AVHS 0

132 Adam Mickelson (Apple Valley) over John Kroll (Shakopee) TF 22-6 0 SHS 19 AVHS 5

138 Sebas Swiggum (Apple Valley) over Sam Treml (Shakopee) Maj 15-4 0 SHS 19 AVHS 9

145 Brandon Kidd (Shakopee) over Brady Gross (Apple Valley) SV-1 6-4 SHS 22 AVHS 9

152 Dylan Anderson (Apple Valley) over DJ Smith (Shakopee) Fall 1:18  SHS 22 AVHS 15

160 Connor Raines (Shakopee) over Devin Roberts (Apple Valley) Dec 7-5 SHS 25 AVHS 15

170 Carson Manville (Shakopee) over Daunte Hill (Apple Valley) Fall 0:41 SHS 31 AVHS 15

182 Jack Casey (Shakopee) over Michael Mattison (Apple Valley) Dec 5-2 SHS 34 AVHS 15

195 Joey Johnson (Shakopee) over Joey Anderson (Apple Valley) Fall 1:42 SHS 40 AVHS 15

220 Tony Anger (Apple Valley) over Jade Trelstad (Shakopee) Fall 2:30 SHS 40 AVHS 21

285 Tyler Kim (Apple Valley) over Tommy Johnson (Shakopee) SV-1 4-2 SHS 40 AVHS 24